Programming issue

Hi everybody,

I'm a programmer myseft and work on AAA games.

I follow the game since the very beggining, and I have notice that your AI loop are on the main thread, that cause some lag very often.

My question is simple : Why !? I know that Unity API is not thread safe that's why I am pretty sure you use coroutines. But coroutine are all executed on the main Thread !

When I play My core 0 is in 100% loaded and my 7 others sleep, result is 16 % average load on 8 cores but the main is completly overloaded and the game is not playable / onjoyable....

Please Hire a Render guy, move you code in thread for path calculation and AI stuff.

I'm playing City Syline that run on Unity as well, and its fully playable and multithreaded.

I hope you are working on it.
100 ms per trame result on 10 FPS on single core, but 60 FPS if threaded on 8 cores (16ms per core for target 60 fps).

- A Friendly pro that care about the game.

Comments

• faviannfaviann Administrator
    Sorry for the late response, I wanted to take the time to answer considering I've heard this question a lot and its always fun writing with a fellow developer.

I'm one of the devs at Sauropod Studio.

You are right by saying that the AI runs on the main thread. Actually, "everything" in Unity runs on the main thread. Though rendering is already threaded in Unity 5.4. (Still in beta, good news though)

You might not know, but what makes up most of the lag spikes, by far, is garbage collection (which we're working hard to make it less of an issue: pooling, abuse of value types, Generics (to prevent boxing), etc). Heap thrashing can sometimes be caused by code which one wouldn't even suspect a little.